ALC Logo Color Full Transparent.jpg

ALC History and Founding Members


In September, 2013, a task force was appointed by Al Head, Executive Director of the Alabama State Council on the Arts, and Tommy Bice, Alabama State Superintendent. The team of arts, education, business, and community leaders from across the state worked for three years to create the Alabama Plan for Arts Education. The Plan was accepted by the State Board of Education in March 2016.
In 2018, the Alabama State Legislature approved $400,000 in new funding for the Alabama State Council on the Arts to launch three pilot Regional Arts Education Collaboratives. The Collaboratives are strategically located in Huntsville, Birmingham and Tuscaloosa. The shared goals for the three collaboratives are to provide regional arts education inventories as well as professional development for teachers, artists and arts organizations in arts integration.

This list represents the voices that were included in the initial plan endorsed in the spring of 2016.

Carolyn Akers, Executive Director, Mobile Area Education Foundation
Hector Baeza, 21st Century Learning Center, Gadsden City Schools
Roy J. Clem, Executive Director, Alabama Public Television
Priscilla Hancock Cooper, Executive Director, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
Randy Davis, House of Representatives
Randy Foster, Executive Director, Alabama Institute for Education in the Arts
Hal W. Fulmer, Ph.D. Associate Provost and Dean, Troy University
Cathy Gassenheimer, Executive Vice President Alabama Best Practices Center
Diana Green, Arts in Education Program Manager, Alabama State Council on the Arts
Darius Hill, Visual Arts, Alabama School of Fine Arts
Allison Dillon-Jauken, Executive Director, The Arts Council, Inc., Huntsville
Val Jones, Visual Arts, Secondary, Guntersville City Schools
Martha Beasley Lockett, Executive Director, Arts Revive, Community Development
Andy Meadows, Arts Education Specialist, Alabama State Department of Education
Dr. Michael W. Meeks, Executive Director, Alabama School of Fine Arts
Robin Nelson, Instructional Services, Alabama State Department of Education
Buddy Palmer, President & CEO, Create Birmingham
Robert D. Powers, President, Eufaula Agency, Inc.
Donna Russell, Executive Director, Alabama Arts Alliance
Tina Watts, Global Corporate Citizenship, The Boeing Company
Dr. Sara Womack, NBCT, Music, Greystone Elementary School
Dr. Sara Wright, Academic Dean, Trinity Presbyterian School

Ivana Angion, Dallas County High School
Delima Bhagat, Spain Park High School
Sarah Burgner, Alabama School of Fine Arts
Brittany Carey-Fox, Everest Academy
Courtney Cooper, Madison City Schools
Shilo Cupples, University of North Alabama
Cole DeBardelaben, Trinity Presbyterian School, Troy University
Ashley Edwards, Grissom High School
Tristan Fowler, Dothan High School
Kendell Brooke Gulledge, Jacksonville State University
D’Anthony Jackson, University of West Alabama
Hannah A. Johnson, Wallace Community College, Andalusia
Maia Julianne Kennedy, Huntsville High School
Megan Kesting, Huntsville High School
Mürron Marchik, Scottsboro High School
Amani Moore, Jefferson County IB School
Meredith Moore, Trinity Presbyterian School
John Pettway, Keith High School
Mollie Schaefer, University of North Alabama
Erin Shockey, Bob Jones High School, University of North Alabama
Morgan Leigh Stokes, Florala High School
Mustafaa Tajuddin, Wallace Community College, Selma